Goodbye Google Plus

Google Plus is being shut down today, what does it mean for your business website?
So today marks the last day of Google+ as it is being shut down today.  At the end of 2018 it was announced it would cease to exist on April 2nd, 2019.

Google+ users will see their account and pages deleted from today.

This marks the end of an 8 year attempt by Google to take on Facebook.

From Google:

“In December 2018, we announced our decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations.

On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted.

From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication.”

What’s the impact for your business?

If, like us, you are a Google Suite subscriber then you can continue to use Google + within your organisation.  If you really, really wanted to.

What does this mean for your business website?

Not much really – but we would advise removing any “Social Sharing” options that include G+ as that’s not the best from a user experience perspective.  If you need help doing that, please get in touch.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Want to become a WordPress super hero?

Get our top tips and guides direct to your inbox, contains 0% spam